LASER was founded by the Universities of Bergamo, Brescia, Milano and Pavia; the University of Milano is the administrative center of both LASER and its PhD in Economics.

The terms of participation of the four Universities in the School and the PhD in Economics, as well as their governance, operation and periodical assessment are detailed in the founding agreement.

The Departments affiliated with LASER and its PhD in Economics are: